Assignment One – great blogging experience

Thinking.Picture1-for-Thinking-Thursdays (1)Well my thoughts about blogging, tweeting, face booking etc, hmm actually it is only because of this assessment that I created a twitter and wordpress blog account. While I already had a facebook account I  still felt a bit reserved in taking part or joining the crowd in the exploration of social media. However I must say, while privacy and shyness are the very few reasons I didn’t  like to do this, i do feel great now that I have been blogging and learning more about social media tools and how they can really help!

Initially it took me a while to get my head around the different styles and tools and widgets etc that  you can use to enhance your blog appearance and experience. I couldn’t understand what the dashboard does and how to set the widget or make up my mind on the theme page to choose :-)   Using Word Press has been great! And I am eager to learn more and continue to learn the different setting and explore the tools that helps with blogging.

My Checklist for this assignment:

  1. Welcome page - check
  2. About Me - check
  3. Regular ,dated entries  - check
  4. Archive –  check
  5. Contact – Response/Feedback/Leave a note - check (feedback on “About” page)
  6. Custom menu with (sub)categories - check  
  7. Add icons to publicise your posts on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Linkedin, and Yahoo!, - check
  8. Site map – semi check :-)
  9. Use of Widgets (i.e., Display a hit/view counter on your blog via using the Blog Stats Widget) - check
  10. Claiming your blog through Technorati (search engine for blogs – allows you to use Technorati services to increase your blog’s visibility). - check

Considered reflections that describe your experiences in creating, editing and using your blog  - check – the 4C’s
Considered reflections, learning and opinions on the concepts and issues covered over weeks 1-5.

Bonus marks will be allocated to those students who exhibit Cook’s 4Cs, Communication, Connection, Cooperation and Collaboration - check.

I plan to do more blogging and participate in more social media expeditions to help me keep up with the latest.

Thank you all who “liked” and commented on my posts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

